top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturezo

A Letter To My Younger Self

Dear 15-year-old Zoe,

It is your older self here. We just had International Women’s Day and it was fantastic. People all over the world are actually celebrating the achievements of women, and appreciating them, and talking about the issues we face every day – those that you probably don’t realise yet. So, in that spirit, I thought I would write you a little note.

It’s 2020, you’re in your final year of your PR and Psychology degree, you actually have 12-months experience in the industry (it was hard but you learnt a lot and got there in the end), you have wonderful family and friends around you, even a boyfriend (I’m sure you’re screaming right now, your fairy-tale dreams have finally come true), and you are happy and confident. Funnily enough, you are actually the person that speaks first – who would have thought that shy little girl would be the one to initiate conversation?

But trust me, you still worry. That is one thing I am still working on. But, we have also come a long way. Funnily enough, I decided to write this after receiving a call I didn’t get a job I really wanted. Rejection is a funny thing. Instead of worrying about why they didn’t like me, or what I will do next, or just having a Britney Spears shave-your-head kind of moment, we shed a few tears (mainly because well, that shit is still disappointing), got our asses up and said ‘whatever is meant to be, will be’. I bet you didn’t expect that.

You have got a great rollercoaster coming up (I know you don’t like roller-coasters either right now, but you will), but you have so got this. Have faith in yourself and have faith in the world because it has your back. You are going to do great things and great things will happen around you. But some bad things will happen too, and in a way, this is where you can really learn about who you are.

Friends will change. Family stays. Flare jeans make a comeback. Instagram is huge. Gay marriage is legal. You shake Shawn Mendez’s hand. You go to Bali. Amazing things happen. But so do not so great things. You’ll be sad sometimes, but also so happy.

I know you love sitting at home for two weeks straight binge-watching the Vampire Diaries (and the end is worth it, I promise), but make time for your friends too. It’ll make you happy and you’ll form some hilarious and beautiful memories. Remember to stand up for yourself, it’ll help build your confidence, and don’t worry about being called bossy, it’s actually a pretty damn badass thing to be.

I know the world can be tough sometimes, but it’s actually a pretty cool place to be. And it’s just getting better.

Lots of love,

Zo xxx

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time.

  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

PR Enthusiast, Digital Marketer, Content Creator & Psych Lover. 

Just Say Zo.

bottom of page